Built as the home of the Royal Southern Yacht Club in 1846, The Bugle is an iconic landmark building overlooking Southampton’s Royal Pier on Bugle Street, one of the most historic streets within the old walled city. Designed by local architect Thomas Sandon Hack, the Grade II-listed Italianate townhouse is widely regarded as the most beautiful Victorian building in the city and retains many of its original features today.
Following extensive renovation, The Bugle reopens as an exclusive-use venue for weddings, private and corporate events, film and photography shoots and homestays.
After the war had ended, the building was taken over by Southampton University’s Air Squadron, which they used as offices until 2013. In subsequent years the building was left delipidated and in need of a new lease of life.
Due to its unique location, the building was requisitioned by the Admiralty at the outbreak of World War Two.
Following its sale, the building was used as a school and latterly a merchant’s office, before being taken back over by the yacht club towards the end of the century and until the outbreak of World War Two.
Due to financial difficulties, the club was forced to move an advertisement in the Hampshire Independent in March 1856 offering the club house for sale or let described the building as a “magnificent, substantial freehold building” which “commands uninterrupted views over the Southampton Water, the Isle of Wight and the New Forest”.
The Bugle was designed by local architect TS Hack and paid for by Robert Wright, a Vice-Commodore of the Royal Southern Yacht Club. The building was used as a private members club and venue for large-scale regattas.
The Bugle has had a rich and varied history. This is a short timeline of The Bugle’s history.